A Morning with Barbie at The Mermaid Tale movie premiere

I’ve been a member of the Yummy Mummy Club for a number of years now. I’ve enjoyed the articles, even wrote a few, and love their contests. Sometimes they even host events for Yummy Mummy Club members to get out and have fun. Today was one of those days with the Barbie Mermaid movie premiere event.

Barbie in a Mermaid Tale is the newest Barbie adventure move, due out on DVD March 9. To celebrate the movie’s release, the Yummy Mummy Club, along with Highroad, Universal and Mattel, hosted a fun movie premiere event for some local Yummy Mummy Club members.

My daughter’s were thrilled to be invited to attend. I wasn’t sure we would make it out on time with my three-year-old changing her Barbie’s outfit five times (because of course Barbie had to come to the event too).

We arrived to find a group of other Barbie fans waiting to enter the event. It was a sea of pink with little girls dressed in their finest and fanciest. Boys were there too; I think we even saw Superman.

As this was a movie premiere, the kids got to strike a pose on the pink carpet. The paparazzi were there to take their photos. My seven-year-old loved this and my three-year-old followed her lead.

There was even a pink surf board for the kids to surf along side Barbie. My girls were all for standing on he surf board, but they didn’t quite get the surfing part.

Then Barbie arrived! Yes, Barbie. My three-year-old stared in awe as she walked by. She couldn’t believe her luck of getting a picture with her.

Settling in with snacks and after some generous Barbie door prizes were handed out from Mattel, it was on to the movie. My girls loved it, especially my three-year-old. And what’s not to love. Surfer girl Barbie discovers she’s actually part mermaid (her mom was the Queen of Oceana and her father was a human). While she wrestles with her new discovery, she finds an inner strength to help the merfolk and restore her mother to her rightful place as Queen of Oceana.

My three-year-old sat mesmerized by the whole film. She loved the mermaids, laughed at the dolphin, worries about the evil sister Queen and enjoyed herself thoroughly.

When the movie ended, all the kids received treat bags full of little Barbie in a Mermaid Tale items. Although my three-year-old’s favourite part of the day was meeting Barbie and watching the movie, my seven-year-old’s was when Erica Ehm, Yummy Mummy Club founder, interviewed her about what she thought of the film.

Barbie in a Mermaid Tale DVD is expected in stores March 9, 2010. You can also hear what moms and girls thought of the event on the Barbie Movie Premiere episode of  YummyMummyClub TV (including my girls who walk the carpet and my oldest who gives her critic of the movie too).

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] 10:38 am Tags: book party, Mischievous Mom, Yummy Mummy Club You probably already know I’m a big fan of Yummy Mummy Club and it’s founder Erica Ehm. Well, Erica and writer Rebecca Eckler have teamed up to write a […]

    Reply

  2. […] it was time for the movie. My girls loved it, even more than Barbie: A Mermaid Tale (which we all loved). The fashion theme and the fairies, or rather flaries (fairies with flare) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

