Mischievous Mom at the Art Gallery book party

You probably already know I’m a big fan of Yummy Mummy Club and it’s founder Erica Ehm. Well, Erica and writer Rebecca Eckler have teamed up to write a new picture book, The Mischievous Mom at the Art Gallery.

I was excited to be invited to their book launch party yesterday. Okay, I admit it, I was nervous, but excited too. Like any person who maintains a blog, I thought what a great blog post my party recap would make. I even brought two cameras to capture everything. And after all that I took one picture. ONE. And even that image didn’t turn out.

I guess that’s sort of a good thing when you think about it. I mean I was too busy meeting people to take their picture. It was great seeing people I had met before, like Annabel (@MeditatingMommy), Lisa (@Those2Girls), RachealMc, Maureen (@WeeWelcome), Kathryn and Cora (@MC_Canada), Tamara (@WonderMoms), Patty (@PattySullivan), Michelle (@Filterologist),Sharon (@SharonDV), Jacki (@JackiYo), Lisa (@PartyMummy), Lindsay (@GraceAnnounce), Alison (@AlisonBurke) and Heather (@Greenwooddavis). And then there were the twitter people I actually got to meet in real life like Maria (@AMothersWorld), Alison (@NummiesBras), JoAnne (@JoAnneWallace), Eric (@MMPerspectives) and Amanda (@InspireHamilton). I know Scott (@UnMarketing) was also there but I just couldn’t bring myself to say hi. I know, crazy.

Oh and of course the talented Erica (@YummyMummyClub) and Rebecca (@RebeccaEckler), two mischievous moms and talented authors behind the book The Mischievous Mom at the Art Gallery. Wow, that’s a lot of people for me to meet and I’m sure I’m missing someone (sorry).

I’m not really good in social situations. No, I’m not the one who drinks too much and starts demonstrating my lack of musical or dance training. I’m the opposite. I tend to not really talk to people, comfortable to be in the back or hiding in a group. But meeting these wonderful people in person makes me not feel so awkward and shy. I love how they’re so inviting and welcoming and not all cliquey like you would sometimes expect a group of women to be. I think that’s one reason, one of many, that I love being involved with the Yummy Mummy Club; it’s all the wonderful ladies (and gentlemen) who are part of the supportive community.

Even Erica, who to me is the closest person I know to being a superstar, she was so wonderful. It was amazing to hear her and Rebecca share their inspiration for the book and watch their genuine excitement and love of their book and every person who came out. Erica talked to everyone; she treated everyone like her best friend. No wonder people walked away feeling like they had a fantastic time, because they did.

Tamara, from WonderMoms.ca, did a great video interview with Erica on her new book and just being a mom. It’s great if you haven’t seen it yet. Plus she’s giving away copies of The Mischievous Mom at the Art Gallery too, how cool is that.

I haven’t had a chance to read The Mischievous Mom at the Art Gallery yet, but I will. And I’ll be writing a review on it next Wednesday as part of my Write a Review Wednesday post so you’ll have to check back (though I know you read every one of my Wednesday book review posts already right?). I can’t wait.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Man did I ever miss one heck of a party! Wish I was there! I need to move to TO!

    Reply

  2. Great to see you again. Too bad we didn’t get to chat more.

    @JackiYo – don’t forget the “Y” 😉 (It’s short for my last name.)

    Reply

  3. […] we reviewed In My Meadow and In My Flower from Chronicle Books. This week, as a follow-up to last Thursday’s book launch party, we’re reviewing Key Porter Books’ The Mischievous Mom at the Art Gallery by Erica Ehm […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

