Is BlogHer10 for me?

I know I’m new to the world of blogging, having just started in March of this year, but I’d have to be living in a bubble not to have heard about the BlogHer conference. By the time I had heard about BlogHer 09 in Chicago it was already sold out, but really, I wasn’t in any position to go had tickets come available.

With the Chicago show over, blogs and twitter are buzzing with posts like keynote presentations that made people laugh and cry or both and the thoughts of swag being given away at the conference. And now that BlogHer 10 has been announced (in New York August 6 – 7, 2010), people are already planning next years trip.

I can’t help but get caught up in the excitement, but at the same time I’m not sure if BlogHer is for me. When I read Jill’s post, from Scary Mommy, it only reinforced my fears. She compared BlogHer 09 to a trip back to high school: cliches and pranks, cool ladies and the nerds. High school was okay, but I’ll admit I’m glad it’s over. I don’t know if I want to relive it.

I’ve read blogs by some amazing women and think they’re kind of cool, but now I would be meeting them in person, they would be meeting me, assuming I could even bring myself out from behind the potted palm at the back of the room. What if these women slough me off, ignore me. The conference is for networking and sharing, but what can I offer with my limited experience. And what happens when I get the nerve to contribute and I say something stupid or irrelevant (well, it’s happened before). I’m not an extrovert personality. I mean I thought I was going to pass out when I just spoke with Erica of Yummy Mummy Club, imagine meeting people in person.

I like the idea of learning and connecting with women who have been making blogging work for them, with the women whose blogs I’ve read and admired. I just don’t know if I’m ready. Are you going?

9 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t plan to go to 2010, but if 2011 is closer to the west coast, I’m going.

    I sincerely think that Blog Her is what you make it. Sure, there’s the cattiness, the cliques, the bad behavior, but I think there is probably a lot of good in it as well. I tend to be a quieter, hang with a few friends kinda person instead of a social party animal, and I really don’t care what people think of my clothes, blog, or social status. 🙂 (unlike high school)

    Maybe the trick is too go with people that you sort of “know”-safety in numbers?

    Reply

  2. I am going.

    I don’t care if the “big” blogger moms don’t talk to me. It’s so incredibly unlikely that I’d approach them in the first place, because while I read blogs that’re popular, I almost never reply. What’s the point of being comment #153 on a post that’s only been published for two hours?

    When I went to the pre-BlogHer09 meetup in Toronto, I didn’t understand why people were saying they’d be intimidated to meet Catherine (Her Bad Mother) and Katie (Motherbumper). To me, they were just two moms that also blog. Would you believe, I didn’t even read their blogs at that time? I had no idea how “big” they are in the parent blogging scene. Literally, two hours before I left to meet them & the others, I read through their last 10-15 posts so I’d at least know their kids names and a few basics about them.

    And you know what? They are amazing, gorgeous, friendly women. There was no ‘difference’ between them and the other bloggers who came along with their smaller blogs & readerships; we were all just women, talking. I loved it. It was only later that it truly sank in that I’d just met some blogstars. You would never have known from the way they interacted with little unknown me.

    One thing that Catherine said and it REALLY stuck with me is something along the lines of how to her, at this point, BlogHer is really about meeting up with friends that she only gets to see at the conference. It’s her opportunity to hug and spend time with people who have supported her for years.

    So I think, knowing people’s priorities and having met blogstars first-hand, I would be really comfortable at BlogHer. I don’t necessarily think it’s “cliquey”, just like if you or I meet up with a group of friends at a cafe we’re not intentionally excluding other patrons from joining our conversation.

    Reply

  3. I’ve got my ticket! 😉

    I know a lot of people are feeling the same way you are. A lot of us are chattering about it on twitter and already planning on connecting while we’re there so we have a friend or two to hang out with and don’t feel like a complete wall flower.

    And the great thing about connecting with 2 people, is they connect with 2 more, and so on and before you know it, you’ve met dozens of new people!

    So definitely go. I’ll be watching for you!

    Reply

  4. Oh, no!! I hate that I discouraged you from going. That sucks! It really was a great weekend- exhausting and overwhelming but totally worth it and I’d do it again in a heartbeat. And I’m going next year, so you must!

    Reply

  5. I’m not planning on going, but if I did, you would find me behind the potted palm, too. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I’m still not sure and likely won’t make up my mind for some time. I can ignore the drama and tend to stay away from it, but I really would love to meet fellow bloggers. It may not be in the cards just yet.

    Reply

  7. I would love to meet some of the bloggers I’ve connected with, people like you CA, and others from the kidlitosphere. But I have zero interest in meeting someone who has a rank or score. I’d so much rather meet interesting intelligent people. If they happen to be interesting AND a celebrity, i would try not to hold it against them!

    Reply

  8. I’ll take you out for a drink so you can take a break from the potted plant.

    If it makes you feel better, I felt the same way at the last conference I went to and that had some serious minds from the e-learning biz. I took my chances and walked up to the keynote speaker and said howdy. He was a nice guy and very knowledgeable. We had a lovely conversation and I was shaking by the time I walked away.

    So, it is doable and if I can do it, so can you. If not, we can always get some folding chairs and observe from behind the foliage.

    Reply

  9. […] event were announced many people started buying them. I just wasn’t sure if it was for me. I even wrote about my uncertainty. But now, less than a year later, I’m actually going. Me. Quiet, unassuming, likes to hind […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

