Online and Offline Worlds Collide

I’m not what you would call an extrovert, at least not in person. That’s probably one reason I’m drawn to the Internet and writing.  Online, through my blog or on social networks like twitter, things are different. It’s not that I’m hiding, but there is some sort of barrier, some sort of separation or comfort zone for me. Behind my computer screen people don’t know how uncool I am and believe me, I’m pretty uncool.

I can tell a joke or share a link with some amazing people online. I can have conversations and these amazing people will converse back. It’s kind of cool, which makes me feel kind of cool.

But what happens when the online world crosses into the offline world. That’s what happened to me today when Erica Ehm, founder of the Yummy Mummy Club (@yummymummyclub) wanted to talk to me about my writing, on the phone. I read the e-mail twenty times and each time I felt my pulse quicken. I mean we’re talking Erica Ehm, from Much Music fame.

I remember watching her on TV, talking to musicians like they were her best friends (some may have been). I mean, she’s like a celebrity to me. And now she wanted to talk to me. No wonder I was a little anxious.

I paced back and forth thinking about the email. Then I thought about a post Caroline from ParentClub (@parentclub) made about stepping outside your comfort zone and taking risks. And really, what’s the worse thing that could happen over the phone. Erica Ehm might discover my dark secret; she might discover how uncool I really am.

But I did it, I called. And you know what she’s really nice. I didn’t expect her to be nasty but somehow I just envisioned her being different, more celebrity like. She was personable and casual and cool. It was a great call and I think I kept my secret intact. That is until the moment comes where I get to meet her in person. Then the pacing and hyperventilating will probably start over again.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Ugh…want “uncool” watch that video of me (gag!). I met Erica Ehm in person – and beforehand thought it was like a high school stage crew geek meeting cool cheerleader situation – but really she is incredibly nice.

    Never would have known if I hadn’t taken the risk to go to the function.

    Good for you to call!

    Reply

    • I feel the same way every time I get an email from her or she calls the house. And I work for her! HAHAHA… I’m such a loser!

      Reply

  2. […] or irrelevant (well, it’s happened before). I’m not an extrovert personality. I mean I thought I was going to pass out when I just spoke with Eric of Yummy Mummy Club, imagine meeting people in […]

    Reply

  3. […] will they like me. I know, kind of childish, but I can’t help it. In the summer I had a telephone conversation with Erica Ehm (from MuchMusic and the Yummy Mummy Club) and I thought I was going to pass out, and that […]

    Reply

  4. […] Erica, who to me is the closest person I know to being a superstar, she was so wonderful. It was amazing to hear her and Rebecca share their inspiration for the book […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

