Deadline? What deadline?

I’ve said this is going to be a year of change and I think I’ve found a new thing to add to my list of things to change (someone needs to invent a year with more then 365 days in it in order for me to accomplish all I want).

I enjoy writing so once I start and get into a groove I’m usually pretty good at sticking to it. I sometimes have to force myself to stop (when everyone is in bed and all the lights are off, that usually a sign that I should stop). As I said, I’m usually good. I’ve noticed a trend with my writing lately. If I’m working on something that has a deadline I usually make that my focus and  get it done, even if it’s just hours before hand. That’s not a bad thing. But my other work, speculative writing or working on my own book material, writing that doesn’t have a deadline, that work seems to get pushed to the side.

I think I need to start scheduling my writing. I know, that seems so counter intuative to the whole creative writing process. It’s sort of like starting an exercise routine or any new routine, you have to do it over and over again before it becomes routine. I read somewhere that it takes about seven weeks of a scheduled routine before it becomes something you do automatically.

So that being said, I’m working on an article idea and I’m going to schedule that my first draft needs to be done by next weekend. There, now it’s in writing. No going back on it. Unless of course I delete this post and pretend like it never happend.

Leave a Reply

