Top 10 Tuesday: Songs of Summer

There’s something about summer that time travels me back to my youth. Sweating in the hot sun. Eating popsicles on the front porch. Running through the sprinkler. Listening to summer songs on my dad’s car stereo as we drove around town. Just like certain smells can harken memories so can sound, especially those summer tunes that were so apart of growing up. Now that I’ve discovered Blip.fm I’ve been able to relive those moments, right here on my computer. So for Oh Amanda‘s Top Ten Tuesday post today I give you, in no particular order, the Top 10 Songs that make me thing of Summer (and I take no responsibility it these tunes stick in your head):

  1. Hot in the City, Billy Idol
  2. Summertime. Summertime, The Jamies
  3. Summer in the City, The Loving Spoonful
  4. Here Comes the Sun, George Harrison
  5. Car Wash, Rose Royce
  6. Let’s Go Trippin’, Dike Dale & The Deltones
  7. Going Up the Country, Canned Heat
  8. Summertime Blues, Eddie Cochran
  9. Sittin’ on the Dock of the Bay, Otis Redding
  10. In the Summertime, Mungo Jerry

What songs make you think of summer?

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m a HUGE Beatles freak, so I’d add “Good Day Sunshine” to that list. 🙂

    Reply

  2. A few songs on your list I’ve never heard of! Thanks for the links so I can take a listen!

    I couldn’t find your e-mail so I hope you don’t mind me replying to your comment on my paper doll post here. Thanks for your comment and I hope you’re able to make lots of dinners without getting bothered!

    Happy Summer! ☺

    Reply

Leave a Reply

