The Ghosts Woke Me Up

I’m my own worst enemy. I haven’t had a full nights sleep in, uh, eight years. That’s a long time to be sleep deprived. It doesn’t help that I’m a bit of a night owl. Knowing that one of my kids will keep me from sleeping that night I really should go to bed early but my routine bedtime seems to be around midnight.

I think my mind is conditioned to wake in the middle of the night now or 3 a.m. in the morning as was the case last night. My 3-year old who usually comes in to see me at that time was sound asleep in her bed, yet here I was awake. Or at least half awake. Maybe it was because I was only half awake, but I swear I heard something moving out in the hallway. I strained my ears (and eyes) a little to see if it was a small child shuffling down the hall or the cats chasing dust bunnies. Nothing. Actually the sound seemed to stop as I tried to determine what was making it. I would start to drift off and the sound would start again. This time I sat up (because we all now how much better our hearing is when you’re sitting). It didn’t help that my husband, who was sound asleep beside me, seemed to be snoring each time the sound happened making it impossible to determine what was causing this noise. It seems the laser beams in my eyes directly into his brain to get him to be quiet weren’t working.

Of course now that I figured out that it wasn’t a child or the cats my mind started filling with all sorts of other possibilities. I mean we live in an old house, built in a time when people were born…and died in their homes. I’m really not a big believer in ghosts but that didn’t stop my mind from freaking me out with thoughts.

So now I had to figure out this sound or I would be up all night imagining what it could be. I was wide awake now. I got out of bed and walked down the hall and waited. Was it rustling paper? Was there a mouse in the hall closet? Was that a faint outline of a small shadow person at the end of the hall? I stood at one end, straining both ears and eyes. Was that…rain? Heavy rain was hitting the back roof. It sounded unlike any rain I had heard before but it was indeed rain.

With my discovery made I was starting to feel tired again. I went back to bed. I closed my eyes. I started to drift back to sleep.

Then my 8-year old woke me up saying she couldn’t sleep. She heard a strange noise outside her room. Good thing my body is use to being woken up in the middle of the night.

Leave a Reply

