Write a Review Wednesday: Star Wars ABC

Welcome to another Write a Review Wednesday, a meme started by Tara Lazar as a way to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week we reviewed Boo Cow. This week my 3-year old is all excited about reviewing Scholastc‘s Star Wars ABC boardbook (age 0+). I have to thank Nikole at Scholastic Canada for my review copy.

@@@@@@@@@@

Now that my 3-year old has started junior kindergarten, she had developed an interest in ABC books. The new Star Wars ABC from Scholastic helps her learn and reinforce her letter recognition with the help Anakin, Boba Fett and Yoda.

My daughter, actually our whole family, is huge Star Wars fan. When I attended the Scholastic Bloggers Breakfast in New York this August (part of BlogHer) they had this book on display and I knew my kids would love it. This is a large format boardbook making it ideal for even the youngest Star Wars fans. The pictures are full colour photographs of both key characters and crafts, like the Millennium Falcon or the TIE Fighter. Each page has the letter printed large in the top corner with the corresponding name right below it. There is also a small amount of copy on each page describing the picture, adding emphasis on the key letter again.

My kids knew most of the characters but it was great to see them discover the spelling or the first letter of each character. My 3-year old isn’t familiar with all her alphabet but knowing the character name was a great way to work on the letter sound and the letter name. The only problem was stopping my enthusiastic son from shouting out the letters before my younger daughter had a chance to read them.

For kids who already know their letters, the simple sentence on each page is a great way to connect reading with those Star Wars fans. My son enjoyed ‘teaching’ his younger sister the letters and trying to read the words on the page. I should point out that since this is an ABC book, the sentences just help reinforce the letter on the page versus telling a story, but that didn’t bother my kids.

You can add a copy of Star Wars ABC to your personal library by visiting your local bookstore. For other great book recommendations for kids, read through some of the past Write a Review Wednesday posts.

Leave a Reply

