Inspired by Martha

I wish I was a better cook. I probably could be better if I wasn’t so lazy. I don’t mean lazy as in lying around the house doing nothing or spending all my free time online. By lazy I mean researching meals that interest me, going shopping for the ingredients, preparing everything and actually cooking. That’s a lot of work. And usually my attempts aren’t successful which can be discouraging, making it harder to keep motivated about trying again.

I think that’s why I like baking. Not that I’m any better at baking than cooking but I find it easier and the results are usually more successful, like those homemade buttermilk blueberry pancakes. Yum! I can’t go back to boxed pancakes after tasting these. And they’re so easy to make.

So when I was at BlogHer not too long ago I had the chance to attend the Martha Stewart cocktail party. It was fun (it was loud). They gave us a bag of goodies at the end with craft items and all sorts of Martha Stewart magazines. Flipping through the magazines how can you not be inspired.

I decided to try the whole ‘make it from scratch’ adventure again, this time with brownies. I had bought this wonderful brownie pan from William Sonoma. I can’t seem to leave that store without buying something, like that pineapple corer. I wanted to try it out but I wanted a good brownie recipe.

That’s where Martha came in. Well not the real Martha but certainly her recipe. I found this recipe for Fudgy Chocolate Brownies. I think what I love best about baking (besides eating the results) is that I feel like I am actually a cook. As I melted chocolate and butter in  my makeshift double-boiler I imagined being on one of those cooking shows, adding a dash of this and a pinch of that. I can’t help it; it happens all the time. And now my 8-year old daughter does the same thing, even when she’s getting breakfast together.

So I melted and whisked and folded and poured my brownie batter into the pan and 40-minute later I had Fudge Chocolate Brownie Chocolate Squares (yes I put the two chocolates in there on purpose).

They didn’t make it until the end of the day, which I guess is a good sign. It’s also a reminder to me that although I’m not as domesticated as I (and my husband and children) wish, I am capable of some edible creations.

Thanks Martha.

One response to this post.

  1. Nice work Martha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

