Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Things My Kids Have Taught Me

As a parent we know it’s our responsibility to nurture and guide and educate our kids to be the best people they can be. Kids look to us to provide them with direction. But as a mom I’m starting to see that this guidance and learning isn’t a one-way street.

I have discovered since becoming a parent that I have learned a few things along the way and that’s to be expected when you venture into new territory. What I didn’t really expect was that one of my teachers, or rather three of them, would be my own kids.

So I thought for Oh Amanda‘s Top Ten Tuesday post this week I would share with you 10 THings My Kids Have Taught Me.

  1. A double-stuff chocolate fudge cookie, eaten really slow, one layer at a time, is a worth while pursuit in patience
  2. Just because you don’t know anyone in the room doesn’t mean you should be discouraged from entering it. There’s bound to be someone else in the room who doesn’t know anyone either and they could be your next best friend.
  3. You can wear a pretty pink dress and have flowers braided in your hair and still play Space Commander Rescue Hero in the backyard. Heroes can be fancy dressed girls too.
  4. Smiling and saying ‘Hello’ to complete strangers, even if they look grumpy, usually results in the stranger feeling pretty good and you feeling even better.
  5. A hug can have more impact than the words you can’t quite say.
  6. Sometimes a situation calls for a really good, hard, sobbing to wash all that negative energy away and reboot your system.
  7. Although new gadgets are cool and fun to play with, sometimes the creativity derived from a simple object can be far more rewarding.
  8. Reading is an important skill but the material doesn’t always have to be a traditional story. Some of the best reading adventures can occur in fluffy, light reading (or comic books).
  9. It’s okay to sleep-in, eat breakfast in your PJs and not shower until after lunchtime. The world won’t come to an end and you’ll probably be in a better mood afterward.
  10. You may love someone very much and that someone I’m sure knows you do but it means so much more when they hear the actual words come from you.

Oh there are so many more lessons my kids have taught me beyond these ten. And I suspect I will still be learning. As an adult it’s hard to let go and allow your children to be your guide but sometimes we all need a reminder of what it’s like to be a child again and view the world with eagerness and want for new discoveries.

What have your children taught you lately?

14 responses to this post.

  1. just last night I learned to play a new wii game – they are always teaching me how to EXPAND my fun! Great post! *blessings*

    Reply

    • Posted by CA on July 20, 2010 at 9:16 am

      Kids are great when it comes to technology. My kids are quick at picking up how to use a new gadget. Playing the Wii Lego games, my son is constantly teaching me tips and tricks. 😎

      Reply

  2. Great post! I might steal your idea for next week – it would go with this week’s theme of things my kids have done that make me smile!

    Reply

  3. So sweet! What a beautiful tribute to your kids! 🙂

    I love the picture of the frufru girl playing space ranger. So fun!

    Reply

  4. I love this statement, “As an adult it’s hard to let go and allow your children to be your guide but sometimes we all need a reminder of what it’s like to be a child again and view the world with eagerness and want for new discoveries.” So.Very.True.

    Reply

  5. Great post! Our 1st is 18 wks (4.5mo), and she’s teaching me stuff already!

    Reply

  6. I esp. like number 4. And 6. Here from top 10.

    Reply

  7. My favorite was the pink-dress superhero. 🙂 That makes me smile, and reminds me that I can be who God created me to be, whether that matches up with people’s expectations or not!

    Thanks for a great post.

    Reply

  8. […] reading these and the lessons my kids have taught me, I feel a little better, a little more confident about my impending trip. Ha, who am I kidding, […]

    Reply

  9. Great post! Loved it… I love playing all the boy games, totally! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

