Girly Girl

As you probably know by now, I’m not a very girly-girl. That wasn’t a problem when my oldest daughter was little. Even as she grew older she exhibited a fashion sense that wasn’t typical girl style.

But kids grow-up and develop new interests; friends and outside influences start to play a part in our kids daily lives.

When my 8-year-old daughter returned from sleep away camp (which was an adjustment for me to deal with on its own) she kept talking about the make-up party they had one night in their cabin. My daughter doesn’t wear make-up so it didn’t occur to her to ask to wear it when she got home but nail polish is a different story.

This week my two youngest are at camp during the day, which gives me some one-on-one time with my oldest. She’s only 8 but already I’m starting to feel her pulling away, wanting to do things with friends instead of family so having time to just hangout was kind of fun.

So I booked a manicure at our local spa. My daughter would love the girl time (and nail polish that doesn’t end up all over her fingers) and I thought this might help my other problem.

My daughter loved her manicure. She picked out some nice bright pink and it looks wonderful on her. I of course, being so conservative, picked out a very pale colour. Sometimes I wish I was a little more adventurous. I decided before heading to New York City for BlogHer I’d make another appointment and grab something brighter. My daughter of course wants to come back with me. She says it’s to make sure I get a fun colour but I think secretly she wants to have another manicure. I might have created a spa monster, albeit a cute one.

Leave a Reply

