Top Ten Tuesday: Why Girls Would Love Alison Dare

Today I’m participating in a book blog tour with Tundra Books and their new Alison Dare stories. You can read my review and tour post and see the incredible journey Alison took to make it to my blog to answer my daughter’s questions.

So with the book blog tour happening today I thought I’d have to forgo another week of participating in Oh Amanda‘s Top Ten Tuesday list (I missed out last week). But after talking to my 8-year-old daughter, who helped me put my review together since she read both Alison Dare books also, I thought I could incorporate today’s Top Ten list into my book blog tour.

So today I give you the Top Ten Reasons Girls Should Read the Alison Dare Books:

  1. The main character, Alison, is a 12-year-old girl and for girls it’s great to read books with a strong female lead character.
  2. Alison’s family tree consists of an archaeologist/adventurer for a mother, the masked hero known as the Blue Scarab for a father, even her uncle is an international super-spy. And they all show-up in her adventures.
  3. Alison has a wild imagination (how else would encountering 1 scorpion in the desert translate into an army of them when she retells her story to her friends).
  4. Alison shows that girls can be daring and take chances and do their own thing. It’s okay to be who you are: a girl, strong, independent, adventurous, human.
  5. Alison’s super-spy uncle shows up at various times unbeknown to Alison or her friends until the last minute. His disguises are darn impressive.
  6. The Alison Dare books are great adventure stories, like Indiana Jones or Laura Croft. They even include cheeky references to some of story lines in those other adventure series.
  7. The current two Alison Dare graphic novels are a quick, fun, easy reads that work the images and storyline together wonderfully.
  8. A secret society of Ninja Nuns. Do I need to say more than that?
  9. If you read them (or your daughter or niece or friend) and like them then more Alison Dare books will follow which will make my own 8-year-old adventurer daughter very happy.
  10. I dare you to read them. No, I double-dog dare you. (now how can you not give in to that).

3 responses to this post.

  1. Fun! I love hearing about new books! I’m going to check them out!

    Reply

  2. […] two! Follow Alison in her misadventures from the past weeks: part 1, part 2 and part 3. Or read the Top Ten reasons why girls would love Alison […]

    Reply

  3. This series sounds neat! I’ve always loved to read. My girls are little right now but I like to keep an eye out for what’s good for when they’re in their tweens.

    Thanks for the recommendation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

