Write a Review Wednesday: Maybe I’ll Sleep in the Bathtub Tonight

Welcome to another Write a Review Wednesday, a meme started by Tara Lazar as a way to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week we reviewed Groundwood BooksWolf Wanted. This week instead of a story we’re looking at poetry. We’ve been reading and enjoying Sterling Publishing‘s Maybe I’ll Sleep in the Bathtub Tonight and Other Funny Bedtime Poems (age 6-9), written by Debbie Levy and illustrated by Stephanie Buscema. I have to thank Derry and Wendy at Sterling Children’s Books for my review copy.

@@@@@@@@@@

From a girl who takes her mother’s bedtime wishes ‘sleep tight’ literally to a boy who wants to give you that first thing in the morning ‘kiss of death’, Maybe I’ll Seep in the Bathtub Tonight is full of fun poems all focusing on or around that lovely bedtime routine. There are poems on pajamas, dreams, brushing your teeth, things in the closet and more.

My kids loved these poems; they each had their favourite that they wanted read at night. My 3-year-old loved the poem about the spoiled princess and her pillows (Pillow Squawk), my 5-year-old liked the poem about morning breath (Pucker Up), and my 8-year-old loved the poem about the girl dreaming of sweets and candy (Sweet Dreams).

Most of the poems are written in standard rhymes and they quite funny in subject matter and how they are written.The illustrations are delightful too, filling the pages with colourful images, wrapping the text around.

It’s great to expose your kids to other forms of writing besides the traditional children’s stories you might be reading them at night. Maybe I’ll Sleep in the Bathtub Tonight and Other Funny Bedtime Poems shows kids that poetry can be fun and entertaining without being too much like Mother Goose. The other great thing about poetry for kids? It’s much shorter than regular stories for nights when you want to read something that isn’t too long. I could read four or five poems which is usually faster than a standard story but my kids feel like they’re getting more.

You can add a copy of Maybe I’ll Sleep in the Bathtub Tonight and Other Funny Bedtime Poems to your own library by visiting your local bookstore or other stores like Amazon.ca. If you’re looking for other great book ideas for kids, read through the past Write a Review Wednesday posts.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week we reviewed Sterling Publishing‘s Maybe I’ll Sleep in the Bathtub Tonight and Other Funny Bedtime Poems. This week addresses my 3-year-old’s fascination with underwear in Blue Apple Books Bear in […]

    Reply

  2. Nice review. I like it. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

