AC/DC, Zombies and Racing Cars: A Family Visit to Comicon

Saturday morning and I received a fantastic email; it contained an invitation to Comicon which was happening in the city that very weekend. So after Sunday school we piled everyone into the car and headed down to the Direct Energy Centre.

The first thing to catch our eye when we walked in was a large Iron Man 2 poster with AC/DC music blasting in the background. They were giving people a chance to ‘rock out’ with Angus Young in anticipation of the Iron Man 2  soundtrack by AC/DC. My girls jumped at the chance to swing a guitar for a photo or two. I was surprised my son wasn’t so eager. Thankfully the booth was by the main entrance so at the end of the show, when my son’s shyness dissipated, my son could get his own picture done. I can’t wait to see the photos later this week.

We also ran into The Bunch Family and Yo Gabba Gabba, which my youngest loved. I think she would have been content to hang out at their booth with their fun play space.

Then there was Harry. Harry Potter. The Ontario Science Center has the traveling Harry Potter exhibit coming as of April 9, 2010 and at the show they had some items from the movie on display, including the marauders’ map. The kids couldn’t drag themselves away from the cabinet. This show is definitely on my list and my daughter’s, her birthday is in April.

There was also a large autograph area, like three rows, but as we walked down the first row it seemed to be mainly wrestlers and ‘cosmetically enhanced’ woman. I guess they were celebrities in some arena. Funny how they didn’t really look like their photos. I’m sure the men waiting for personalised autograph weren’t looking at the girl’s faces. It was interesting trying to usher the kids down the aisle quickly, trying to avoid questions about body parts and outfits.

I was disappointed I just missed Gil Gerrard and Erin Gray from Buck Rogers. Actually it’s probably not a bad thing I missed them. I think the only way I could have seen them was paying to have my picture with them. A picture would have been cool but I’m not enough of a fan, not one of THOSE fans, who would pay for a picture.

We did see Kandyse McClure (Officer Anastasia Dualla from Battlestar Galatica) and Ernie Hudson (Winston from Ghost Busters), but sadly I couldn’t convince the kids to wait for a picture. It was kind of cool seeing them though. Oh yeah, Christopher Knight (Peter Brady from The Brady Bunch) was there. I’m sure he’s done stuff beyond that but that’s all I could think of.

photo: sickonsin.com

There were lots of comics and action figure dolls but my kids were drawn in to the booth to see the zombie animals. Sick on Sin had a great collection of shirts and buttons, even in kid sizes. Obviously were not the only family with a fascination with zombies. My 3-year-old even suggested they come up with a cat zombie (since they seemed to have all the other animals covered). Ah, how cute, a 3-year-old zombie lover! Their stuff is cute zombie work versus gross, scary stuff. Of course I had to sign-up to get their newsletter. They gave us an ‘I love Zombies’ magnet to put on our fridge so visitors will know our interest.

We saw some costumed characters, though not as many as I was anticipating, we watched comic book illustrators working at their trade, but if you were to ask my kids, or rather my son, what his favourite part of the whole show was, Split Second would have come out of his mouth.

Disney Interactive was down demonstrating Split Second, their new video racing game due out in May. We own a few videos games on both the Wii and the PS3 but many of them are too difficult to play or are a little boring, offering round the track racing or simplistic graphics. But both my 5-year-old son and 7-year-old daughter were quick on picking up how to play and the graphics were great. It took a little persuading but my son did give up his controller so someone else could play. The Split Second shirts helped too (even though they’re a little big the kids couldn’t wait to wear them. Game rating is still pending but I could see this being a racing game we could all play.

It took a little persuading but my son did give up his controller so someone else could play. The Split Second shirts helped too (even though they’re a little big the kids couldn’t wait to wear them. Game rating is still pending but I could see this being a racing game we could all play.


No afternoon would be complete without buying over-priced, on-site pizza for lunch and a little table hockey.

Okay, the Toronto Comicon doesn’t compare to some of the highlights I’ve seen from California, but an afternoon of ‘rocking out’ with AC/DC, checking out zombies and racing (and smashing) cars is still pretty cool. What did you do with your family on the weekend?

Leave a Reply

