Write a Review Wednesday: In My Flower and In My Meadow

Welcome to another Write a Review Wednesday, a meme started by Tara Lazar as a way to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week we reviewed Jeremy Tankard‘s Boo Hoo Bird (3-5 ) from Scholastic Press. This week we’re starting to think about Spring and Easter so we’re looking at two wonderful, interactive board books from Chronicle Books. I have to thank Crystal at Raincoast Books for my review copies.

@@@@@@@@@@

In My Flower by Sara Gillingham and Lorena Siminovich, follows a little butterfly through her regular day, through the always busy garden to a sunny spot to rest with her family. The illustrations have a country collage feel to them and the text wraps curves adding to the feel of movement on the page. But the best part about this book is the finger puppet of the butterfly that appears in the middle of every page. The cover has a large flower cutout where the bunny appears and this cutout is repeated on each page, getting smaller and smaller but without hindering the finger puppets movement. The flower cutout gives a great layered look to the book as each cutout gets smaller.

The copy on each page talks about one thing the butterfly is doing, like drinking sweet nectar or resting in the warm sun. My daughter loved when I acted out the action with the finger puppet; I would move the butterfly near the flower to drink.

In My Meadow also by Sara Gillingham and Lerena Siminovich is from the same series and follows the same design as In My Flower. The difference is the finger puppet is a bunny and the cutout is a bunny hole. Each page talks about a different thing the bunny is doing during her day, until she joins her family on the last page. I love that both of these stories show the butterfly and bunny doing things on their own, but always end up back in the company of their family.

You could read these books without using the finger puppet as they do just sit in the center of the book, but my daughter seemed to enjoy interacting with the puppet. She even liked looking at the book on her own or reading it to me and manipulating the puppet. And even though my daughter knew the bunny and butterfly were just puppets she loved talking to them and interacting with them as though they were real and telling her the story.

There are other books in this series: In My Nest (bird finger puppet), In My Pond (fish finger puppet), In My Den (bear finger puppet), and In My Tree (owl finger puppet). I know In My Flower and In My Meadow aren’t Easter books, but they do have a great Spring feel and might make a great alternative to chocolate in someone’s Easter basket. If you want to add In My Flower or In My Meadow to your home library, visit your local bookstore or Amazon.ca. For other great book suggestions, read through the past Write a Review Wednesday posts.

One response to this post.

  1. […] started by Tara Lazar as a way to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week we reviewed In My Meadow and In My Flower from Chronicle Books. This week, as a follow-up to last Thursday’s book […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

