It’s Shrove Wednesday

I know, I know, it’s actually Shrove Tuesday which was yesterday. We were all excited to have pancakes for dinner like every year but my oldest is taking first communion classes at our church. What does that have to do with pancake Tuesday? Well it shouldn’t be relevant at all except the teachers decided to schedule the family night on Tuesday, Shrove Tuesday. You’d think if any group would try to reschedule to avoid conflicting with a religious event, it would be a religious institution. But I guess not.

So we’re celebrating Shove Wednesday at our house. Blueberry pancakes it is. I even went all out and made pancakes from scratch. That’s right no pre-packaged pancakes for us. I borrowed Joy of Baking‘s Blueberry Pancake recipe.

And really, pancakes taste just as good on Wednesday as they do on Tuesday, especially after I convinced my son we didn’t need to toss ash on them to commemorate Ash Wednesday.

2 responses to this post.

  1. and for us it’s Shrove Thursday as life got in the way – so today it is for pancakes!! and I WILL toss them

    Reply

  2. Posted by Victoria on February 24, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    YUM! those look delicious! now if only i could make pancakes…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

