Twittering about #Olympics #van2010

So the Olympics are here and I must admit I haven’t been all that excited about the whole thing. I think living in the city I’ve become a little jaded when it comes to world events. I think it’s great that the city is made up of so many cultures; we’re fortunate enough to have experienced a variety of foods and festivals and more. But all these cultures can work against the Canadian culture.

It seems world events, like the Olympics, brings out a person’s heritage but their ancestors heritage and not their Canadian heritage. All of a sudden people are supporting Greece and Italy and United Kingdom. That’s not a bad thing. You should be proud of your heritage. My family comes from the United Kingdom, Scotland and Ireland and we proudly celebrate in the music we listen to and food we eat and shows we watch. What irks me is when this heritage, some 7th generation Canadian, takes over the pride of their home country, Canada.

I know Canada’s a young country in comparison to others but it’s my country, it’s the country to many. I wish people wouldn’t forget that when world events like the Olympics arrive.

So that said, I wasn’t all excited about the Olympics. Thinking about it just brought out these feelings. Even on the night of the opening ceremonies I didn’t have much interest in watching. But as my husband and seven-year-old daughter watched the event I couldn’t help but be drawn in.

As I watched the athletes come in I read the comments on twitter. It was odd watching something and reading a tweet from someone across the country on the same moment. When Canada arrived on the floor my screen was full of tweets all about Canada: Yeah Canada, Go Canada, Here Comes Canada. It was pretty incredible and inspiring.

The tweets during the ceremony were cute, patriotic, and sometimes laugh out loud hysterical but always full of Canadian pride. Although I was in my house I was sharing this moment with other people. I found myself getting caught up in the excitement and pride. We could have all been sitting in my family room watching together. The show may have been flawed and yes we joked about it, but in the end these people, these Canadians showed me that there is Canadian pride. These people showed me that other Canadians are just as proud and honoured to live in this great country, proud and honoured to have these athletes represent us on the Olympic world stage.

I started off not really caring about the Olympics and thanks to twitter and the amazing people who are on it I have now regained my faith in the people of Canada. I’ve always been proud to be a Canadian but now I know that there are many, many others who feel the same way. And next time someone is shouting cheers for Poland or Germany, I’ll shout even louder:

GO CANADA!

One response to this post.

  1. I’d never be this into the Olympics if it wasn’t for Twitter. I’m not sporty. But the enthusiasm is contagious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

