Pajama’s for Haiti

My two youngest ready for Pajamas for Haiti. My oldest didn't want to be photographed in her PJs

My two youngest ready for Pajamas for Haiti. My oldest didn't want to be photographed in her PJs

Yesterday my kids participated in a fundraiser at the school called Pajamas for Haiti. Kids could wear their pajamas to school for the day in exchange for a two dollar donation. The funds would go to the Canadian Red Cross to help support relief efforts in Haiti.

My kids were thrilled with the idea of wearing their pajamas for the day. See in our house I make the kids get dressed before coming downstairs for breakfast, even on Saturday. It’s a me thing. So Pajamas for Haiti gave them an excuse to wear pajamas all day and there was nothing I could do about it. Even though my youngest doesn’t go to school, she wasn’t going to miss out on the pajama party madness and insisted on wearing her pajamas too.

I did have to go over a few ground rules:

  1. they couldn’t wear the same pajamas they slept in. No rolling out of bed and saying they were ready for school.
  2. they had to wear underwear, socks and an undershirt beneath their pajamas (I mean it is winter).

You may think those are funny rules but my kids expected just to get out of bed and go to school. The kids had fun and felt pretty good at making some sort of contribution to an event they felt helpless about. Now I just need to remind them that pajama day was only for that one day.

Leave a Reply

