It only took 5 years

I love older homes. Our first home was built in 1926 and our current home, 1909. I love the brick and extensive use of wood. I love all the rooms. But owning an older home does have it’s issues like knob and tube wiring or coal furnaces, even asbestos. The other thing that seems to be common in older homes is having only one bathroom.

With a family of five, having one bathroom can be a little, well, let’s just say inconvenient. I don’t know how my mom did it, growing up in a house of eight and just one tiny bathroom. But this is the modern age where people have two cars, two TVs, two cell phones, why can’t we have two bathrooms.

Well now, five years later, I can proudly say we have two bathrooms. We converted a pantry room between the kitchen and dining room into a two-piece bathroom. It took us most of the summer, actually we just finished the week before Christmas, but now I can’t imagine living without it. My potty training daughter doesn’t have as many accidents now that there’s always a bathroom free. It’s easier to monitor the kids while washing up for dinner. When company comes to visit I don’t need to worry about them seeing the piles of laundry or unmade beds on the second floor. And maybe now I can actually go to the bathroom without an audience of three kids. Well, maybe that’s a little unrealistic.

We kept the structure of the old pantry, including the wonderful pine floor, and added some insulation. Since the room is just off the kitchen, by the back door, we kept it the same colour scheme, red with black trim.

We left the pine floors untouched and they work great with the red walls

As this room was originally a pantry, it had a door into the kitchen (the main bathroom door) as well as a door into the pantry. We didn’t want to remove the door or wall it up (for cost and esthetic reasons) so we turned it into built in shelves. My husband found some glass shelves that fit the width of the door perfectly.

The hot water rad by the sink works great as a towel warmer too.

The hot water radiator by the sink makes a great towel warmer too.

If wood has already been painted I’m not as reluctant to paint on top of it, but I had a real hard time bringing myself to paint the unpainted oak door into the dining room. We decided to paint it black like the trim to blend it into the room, not make it look like a modified door entry.
We know can store our extensive Tiki mug collection and other Tiki pottery items. The back wall will also be used for some storage like platters and other items we’ve collected with us. The display shelf gives an interesting display for people to look at while in the bathroom (or maybe scary depending on your perspective).

We converted the doorway into the dining room as a display shelf.

We had a window looking into the back sunroom.  I liked the natural light and didn’t want to cover it up, but since this is a bathroom you don’t want people to be peeking in either. So instead we covered it with a vinyl sheet in a mission style, similar to most of the main floor lighting. It was so easy to put on and looks great. I have to thank my mom for this; she tried this at her place first.

We were able to keep the window and still maintain privacy.

It may have taken five years, but I’m so happy with it. My potty training daughter doesn’t have as many accidents now that there’s always a bathroom free. It’s easier to monitor the kids while washing up for dinner. When company comes to visit I don’t need to worry about them seeing the piles of laundry or unmade beds on the second floor. And maybe now I can actually go to the bathroom without an audience of three kids. Well, maybe that’s a little unrealistic.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Merry120 on January 10, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Your new bathrom looks awesome! I love old houses & wish that we had one. They have so much more character!

    Reply

  2. Posted by mom on January 11, 2010 at 9:41 am

    Looks great, I like the colour it makes the room look nice and warm. Does the door adjoining the dining room lock so noone accidently tries to open it?

    Sink vanity great- fits in nicely with the wood floors. Good work – enjoy the convenience, even more so in the summer when you don’t have to run so far from the backyard to the bathroom.

    Reply

  3. It looks great! We used to have 1 bathroom too (in our house built in 1920). I loved it, and both our kids were in diapers at the time, so it wasn’t such a problem. I’m so glad you found a solution…great decorating too!

    Reply

  4. […] homes have that I’m not a fan of, like asbestos, knob and tube wiring, one bathroom (which we recently rectified in our current home) and lack of storage […]

    Reply

  5. […] 1909) was untouched by the previous owners which is a rare and wonderful thing. Yes, it means work and more work but all the character is maintained and that’s what I love, a house with […]

    Reply

  6. […] Enchanted Tiki Room. I blame this on the family; we love tikis (did you see our display in our second bathroom). So it comes as no surprise that all 3 of my kids enjoy The Tiki […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

