It’s been a Think Geek Christmas

If you haven’t figured it out by now I’m a little bit of a geek. So it comes as no surprise that some of my geekism has rubbed off on my family. Take this past Christmas for example. Under our tree we had our share of movies and chocolates and toys and clothes, but we also had a high number of items purchased from the virtual store Think Geek.  If you love weird cool techie stuff and Internet culture, then you really need to check them out.

To give you an idea about the kind of neat things Think Geek carries (and just how much of a geek family we are), here are a few of the Christmas items found under our tree this year:

Tauntaun Sleeping Bag

If you’ve seen Star Wars: Empire Strikes Back, you’ll probably remember the Hoth planet scene where Han Solo saves Luke Skywaker’s life. The scene where Han slices open his tauntaun’s stomach and shoves Luke inside to keep him warm in the animals steaming innards. It’s a classic scene. So when Think Geek advertised a tauntaun sleeping bag on their site I was originally excited, only to find out it was one of their mock products. Well I guess I wasn’t the only one who felt that way. It turns out a number of other Think Geek shoppers were keen on the tauntaun sleeping bag and somehow Think Geek was able to pull off making some real versions. So guess what my five year-old son received from us for Christmas. You guessed it, his own tauntaun sleeping bag.

This thing is huge, obviously meant to house a large person (or Luke Skywaker). No details were forgotten and all were appreciated by our son. He loved the tauntaun head as his pillow and the outline of the tauntaun’s innards on the inside material of the sleeping bag. He even loved the lightsaber as the zipper pull. Every time my son opened his sleeping bag he pretended like he was Han cutting open the animal.

My son loved his sleeping bag so much he opted to have a nap in the middle of the day, Christmas day! Right now the tauntaun sleeping bag resides on my son’s bed and he has been sleeping in it every since.

My son preparing for his Hoth Planet campout

Shockball

Okay, maybe my husband wasn’t really thinking this gift through when he bought it for our seven-year-old daughter. I think the warning on the box freaked everyone out: This product emits an electric shock. Keep out of reach of children. Not suitable for those under the age of fourteen. At first no one wanted to touch it after my husband turned it one. Eventually we convinced our daughter to try it and even our three year-old got sucked into handling it. However, my adventurous five year-old son wanted nothing to do with it (smart boy). My daughter swears it doesn’t hurt, kind of tickles, but she hasn’t played with it since. Might be fun to pull out on the next birthday party for a game of hot potato.

Bluetooth Retro Handset

I love my iPhone but sometimes talking on the phone can be cumbersome, especially if you’re trying to use your phone for other things like checking your calendar or email. I’m not a big fan of those earpieces either. But this Christmas my husband found the perfect solution: Think Geek’s Bluetooth Retro Handset. This is awesome. After charging it for the initial six hours, I was able to make and answer calls from my iPhone using this handset. I can even use my voice recognition to dial through the handset. Now I can talk on the phone and check my email, add items to my calendar or even send a tweet. And now if family calls on my phone it’s easier for my kids to talk too without having to explain how to hold my iPhone.

Hello....

Stylophone Retro Pocket Synthesizer

My husband originally tried to get one of these Stylophone’s when they were sold during The Raconteurs tour earlier in the year. Then he discovered the same thing on Think Geek. We gave this to our seven year old music lover. Of course we thought it was cools, but it was great to see how much our daughter loved it too, actually all the kids love playing with it. Beyond just playing songs (some music sheets came with it), you can plug-in headphones and attach an MP3 player and play along.  This is what my daughter enjoyed, playing her own back-up music to the music on my iPhone.

Dum-dee-dum playing my own music da-dee-dum

Think-ets Imagination Game

This little bag contains 15 small, random items used to generate creativity. This will be great will stimulating creative storytelling with the kids (tell a story based on an item pulled from the bag or maybe fill-in a story gap caused by writers block). This will be fun for all of us and maybe it will help kick start a few of my own story ideas.

And if the items Think Geek sells aren’t enough to convince you to shop with them, then their customer service will win you over; it did for us. The Live Chat came in handy and the people on the other end actually know what they’re talking about. And when we ran into a shipping problem, Rob, the customer service manager, bent over backwards to rectify everything and our packages arrived before Christmas. I love all the cool things Think Geek sells and wouldn’t hesitate in purchasing anything from them, especially after being treated so well by their customer service department.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by plentyspace on December 29, 2009 at 8:15 am

    My husband found a tauntaun sleeping bag under the tree as well. The thing is huge and has now become an oversized throw for our bed which is a bit awkward but super snuggly.

    Reply

  2. […] turkey and fixings ready, we enjoyed a wonderful Christmas morning with our kids (did you see my Think Geek Christmas post). I didn’t think about dinner until about an hour before we wanted to eat. Then all I had to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

