Chicken, Pig, Cow want to go to your house (giveaway)

I’ve been very fortunate to have reviewed a number of great books for kids as part of my weekly Write a Review Wednesday post. But today isn’t about me, it’s about you or rather what I can give to you.

Recently I wrote a review on Ruth Ohi‘s wonderful picture book Chicken, Pig, Cow as well as her follow-up book Chicken, Pig, Cow On The Move, equally as wonderful. If you ever get a chance to hear Ruth Ohi read, you should. My oldest daughter and I had a chance to meet her recently at the Word on the Street festival. She is so energetic and enthusiastic and really talks to and involves her young readers in her presentation. It was so much fun (and I learned a thing or two as well).

So how is this post about you? In addition to the copies of both Ruth Ohi’s books for my reviews, my friend Joanna from Annick Press sent along two additional copies. That’s right, I have an additional copy of Chicken, Pig, Cow and Chicken, Pig, Cow On The Move. I know, pretty awesome!

So I’m offering both of these books together to you my blog readers, book lovers. And since my birthday is today, I’m feeling really generous and I will send these to anyone in Canada or the United States. If you would love to add both of these books to your personal library, leave a comment below telling me one of your favourite kids books (I’m always looking for new book suggestions). Don’t forget to leave your email address so I have a way of contacting you. I will accept entries until Monday, October 12, 2009 (midnight EST) at which time I will randomly pick a name. Good Luck!

Update: We have a winner. Random.org has picked a winner and they have been notified. Thanks for your interest.

26 responses to this post.

  1. Oh wow… from your review, I really love the look of the books. I’d love to add them to Maia’s library!

    Right now one of our favourites is the ultra-cute “Where Are You From, Little Goose?” … because it turns out he’s from CANADA! And then at the end of the book we always tickle Maia and sing her a Canada goose song 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jonnie H on October 4, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    My favorite is Love you Forever by Robert Munsch. It is such a heartwarming book.
    dftrew(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply

  3. Our current fave us Boo Hoo Bird by Jeremy Tankard.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Maria on October 5, 2009 at 7:37 am

    The favorite book in our house is Are you My Mother? by Dr. Seuss — obviously not a new release but it gets big laughs (I give all the animals different accents when I’m reading it, so it makes the kiddies howl!). We also love the Scaredy Squirrel series – I personally love how funny and creative they are. Thanks for this giveaway – we are a book-loving family!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Carol on October 5, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    My kids adore The Snowy Day.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kelly Ann T. on October 5, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    I Need My Monster by Amanda Noll is Holt’s favorite book.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Nad on October 5, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    My toddler loves Llama, Llama, Red Pajama.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Donna on October 6, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway! One of my favorite books growing up was Harry the Dirty Dog!
    Oh, and Happy Birthday!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Pat on October 6, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    My daughter loves Dear Big, Mean, Ugly Monster – about a boy who writes letters to the monster under his bed. He discovers the monster isn’t so mean, just misunderstood. It’s a bit scary at first but quickly is funny and teaches about acceptance of others. She has it memorized even though she can’t read yet.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Katherine C. on October 6, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    We have been enjoying Going on a bear Hunt. Thanks!

    Reply

  11. We love the series ‘How does a Dinosaur…” and one of our favs is ‘How does a dinosaur play with his friends’. Great books.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Kenny on October 7, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    We love the bernstein bears books.

    Reply

  13. These look great! I love discovering new books!

    My favorite children’s book is Amazing Grace by Mary Hoffman. If you don’t know it, you have to check it out!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Mia J. on October 8, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    My daughter and I love the Minnie and Moo series
    of books. We always want to see what type of mischief
    those cows are going to get into.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Jeni on October 8, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    My favorite childrens book are Oh! David by David Sharron

    Reply

  16. The book I love to read my daughter is I’ll Love you Forever. It is so cute.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Renee G on October 8, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    My boys enjoy “Please don’t eat the teacher”.
    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

    Reply

  18. Right now my son likes Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo by Kevin Lewis and my daughter is reading Katy No-Pocket by Emmy Payne.

    Reply

  19. Skippyjon Jones is a good kids book!

    janemaritz at yahoo dot com

    And we’ve posted about this at Winning Readings: http://winningreadings.blogspot.com/2009/10/chicken-pig-cow-books.html

    Reply

  20. Posted by vmlay on October 10, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    These look like fun! My kids love anything by Mercer Mayer or Rosemary Wells. They are also big fans of the McDuff series!

    Reply

  21. Posted by lorene on October 10, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    My kids love “Goodnight Moon” and “Where the Wild things are
    harborlad@optonline.net

    Reply

  22. Posted by Leanne on October 11, 2009 at 7:48 am

    The favorite right now is Chicka Chicka Boom Boom. We have read it so much I feel I don’t even need to anymore because the kids have memorized most of it!! Too Funny!!!
    Thanks for the chance!!

    Reply

  23. My boys’ favorites are “Oh My Oh My Oh Dinosaurs!” and “I Love You Stinkyface”. Great fun!

    Reply

  24. Happy belated Birthday! I just found one that my son loves called I Love You More by Laura Kuksta. There is another one called Wally the Walking Fish by Gary Lamit – but I think he just likes the different voices that I do.

    kherbrand at comcast dot net

    Reply

  25. I loved “To Think I Saw It on Mulberry Street.” It was so much fun to read growing up, sadly my kids haven’t gotten into it yet.

    Reply

  26. Now a days I love books with chickens in them. I love the Eric Carl book,The very hungry Caterpillar’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

