Brownie anyone?

Wasn’t it just last week I was talking about my son and his long anticipated jump into Beavers? Now it’s my daughter, my oldest daughter. She’s been a Spark for the last two years. I guess it was bound to happen. But my daughter is getting older. And with getting older means transitions, moving on, moving up. My girl is now a Brownie, the step after a Spark and before a Girl Guide.

My son and younger daughter enjoyed staying up late and celebrating.

My son and younger daughter enjoyed staying up late and celebrating.

Seeing my daughter getting her Brownie pin reminded me of my Brownie days. Like my daughter, I loved being part of Girl Guides. I loved hanging out with my friends and camping and learning new things and earning badges (even though I burned a batch of rice krispie squares). Of course my daughter wasn’t as lucky as I was. We got to wear those lovely brown bag dresses as uniforms.

Myself (left) and sister (right) proudly displaying our Brownieness

Myself (left) and sister (right) proudly displaying our Brownieness

One response to this post.

  1. […] you may know, my daughter is in Brownies, a division of Girl Guides for girls 7 and 8. She loves it. She loves her friends and the ladies […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

