Have you heard The Word on the Street?

wots

I’ll let you in on a little secret, I love books. Okay, probably not much of a secret. I love to write for kids and review great children’s books through my weekly Write a Review Wednesday post. So my excitement about this Sunday’s Word on the Street book and magazine festival should come as no surprise. My husband and I use to go religiously every year before we had kids, though it’s hard to remember those moments. I’m looking forward to getting back into going again.

Hearing author’s read, checking out some of the new children’s books, meeting some of the publishers I’ve had a chance to work with. Perhaps I’ll even pick up a tip or two on progressing my children’s book writing. The day promises to be full, but some of the key things scheduled that I want to visit are:

  • It’s All About Kids, Carey Fagan, CBC Stage (1:30-2:30). You may remember I wrote a review on Carey Fagan’s book Thing-Thing.
  • 5 Things That WON”T Help You Get Your Children’s Book Published (and 3 That Just Might), Stephanie Simpson McLellan, Canadian Magazine Tent (11:15-11:45)
  • Chicken, Pig, Cow on the Move, Ruth Ohi, Children’s Reading Tent (1:00-1:30). You may remember I wrote a review on Chicken, Pig, Cow. I plan to have a review on Chicken, Pig, Cow on the Move next Wednesday.
  • The Pirate & The Penguin, Patricia Storms, Children’s Reading Tent (2:00-2:30)

I’m bring my seven year old daughter with me so I think we’ll be spending a lot of time on Kids Street.

So if you’re in or around Toronto and you love books, be sure to stop by The Word on the Street book and magazine festival this Sunday, September 27, from 11:00-6:00pm. And if you see me wandering around starry-eyed and loaded with books, but sure to say Hi (though you might have to wave your hand in front of my face to get my attention).

2 responses to this post.

  1. I should be kicking around with my kiddies, too. (My husband needs to work a booth and I figure there’ll be lots to check out.)

    I’ll look out for you on Kid Street.

    Reply

  2. […] and Magazine festival in Toronto. It’s been in my calendar for weeks now. I even compiled a list of things I wanted to cover at the event. I’m fortunate enough to live just a streetcar away so I didn’t have to worry about […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

