Foto Friday: Beaver Boy

Happy Foto Friday

It’s Friday and again I’m participating with Candid Carrie and her Friday Foto Finish Fiesta (you can see who else is playing by visiting her blog). I know everyone’s been focusing on the first day of school but we’ve have had our own special first day.

Finally... a Beaver

Finally... a Beaver

Beaver Boy: When my oldest daughter started Sparks (the youngest group of Girl Guides), she loved sharing stories about what she did in her girl club. Then my son heard there’s was a boys club, Beavers, and from that moment he’s been counting down the days, every day for two years.

Well yesterday was that day. My son wanted to wear his uniform to school so he’d be ready to go right away. He was at school ‘recruiting’ his friends to join. He could hardly eat his dinner. When he came home from his first Beaver’s meeting he was all smiles, big tired smiles.

When my son started junior kindergarten last year it was a big day for both of us. The first day is always big and one I will probably remember. But somehow my son starting Beavers has a similar effect on me. He’s participated in outside activities, on his own, without me, but Beavers is at night. I mean he’s out while his sisters are getting ready for bed and he doesn’t get back until they’re asleep. Maybe that’s it. Attending something that keeps him out past his regular bedtime means something. It means he’s getting bigger. It means he’s not my little baby boy. I’m so excited for him.

Now my youngest has started her countdown….

4 responses to this post.

  1. Awww! How cute! And those long curls! And now he’s growing up. =( I’m just taken back by how much my son is growing too. Just a more confident mature version of himself. It’s so sweet.

    Reply

  2. Congratulations to Mannix. He looks so cute- but I guess Beavers don’t want to be know as cute more like adventurous!

    I hope he has many hours of enjoyment with his “Boys Group” and even if there are any girls in this group they will likey be Tomboys- so that is OK too.

    He is such a wonderful little personality.
    love mom

    Reply

  3. […] raising kids, stages kids go through Wasn’t it just last week I was talking about my son and his long anticipated jump into Beavers? Now it’s my daughter, my oldest daughter. She’s been a Spark for the last two years. I […]

    Reply

  4. […] my three are in school, fitting in outside activities and clubs is difficult. We’ve agreed to Beavers and Brownies as well as swimming lessons. In my mind there are three things all kids should learn: […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

