I hate people who hate their jobs

You know who I’m talking about. Those people who have to deal with us, the public, and make it really obvious they’d rather be eating live bugs. The clerk at the coffee store who rolls his eyes and makes audible sighs if you mispronounce those bizarre coffee drink names. The grocery store cashier who makes sure to pack your eggs underneath the watermelon, the twelve naval oranges and the two extra large cans of tomato paste.

Now I can add school secretary to my list of people who piss me off. Today I was late getting my son to his afternoon kindergarten class (how was I suppose to remember over the summer that the afternoon class starts at 12:45 and not 1:00 p.m.). I dropped into the office to ask if she needed me to fill in a late slip. Well, from her response you would think I had asked her to run up to the roof to confirm the time on the sundial. I blurted out that if the school had done it’s job and communicated the start times I wouldn’t be in here talking to her right now. I could have said more but I was worried what would come out, plus we were already late.

What a way to ruin my first day of school high. My son on the other hand seemed unfazed by the whole thing. Perhaps because he’s seen mom react this way too many times lately? (No, I really am a patient person. Really).

This isn’t the first time this secretary has annoyed me with her less than cheerful attitude. I encountered it a few times last year, but since we were new to the school, having transferred just after Christmas, I choose to ignore it. The school secretary is the first impression most people get when they enter the school. I’m not saying she should be out going and initiating conversations with people or dancing in her office. I’m an introvert and I know how hard it is to interact with people. But it doesn’t take much to smile and say good morning. In my mind these are common courtesies. It’s called being polite. I mean my two year old has that one figured out all ready.

I guess someone should let the secretary know this and maybe that someone should be me. Not to her face of course but maybe I need a conversation with the principal. And all parents know there’s no better way to make an impression at the school than to start kicking butt during the first week. Wish me luck.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Nothing pisses me off more than needless rude/unfriendly people. Makes my blood boil! Definitely rat her out to the principal. She works with children for gods sake! Would it kill her to put on a smile? Sheesh!

    Reply

  2. There are no small jobs – just small people (and I’m not talking stature)

    Reply

  3. you mean like the drive thru order guy at the Tim Horton’s who gave me the what for practically because I asked for honey ‘glazed’ Timbits…apparently they are honey ‘dipped’ & my error caused mass confusion & chaos behind the scenes….;)

    Reply

  4. […] I’ve been late walking over to pick-up the kids almost 5 of the 10 school days (remember my encounter with the school secretary?) I’ve volunteered to handle the Scholastic’s orders for my son’s kindergarten […]

    Reply

  5. […] the news when I heard it. The secretary and I didn’t get along that well (I wrote about our encounter one morning), but my kids liked her; they dealt with her every day and she was pleasant to them, usually. My […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

