Foto Friday: Cousins

Happy Foto Friday

And here I am once again participating in Candid Carrie’s Friday Foto Finish Fiesta (you can see others on her blog). We just came back from visiting my sister and her kids for Simcoe Day which brings me to today’s photo:

There's something special about cousins

There's something special about cousins

Cousins: Kids will always have family, you can’t escape them and they love you no matter what, though sometimes you may not be too happy with them. Kids will always have friends; someone to share a common interest in like Webkinz or Star Wars or grade one. But sometimes friends change interests or develop new friendships or move away. I always think cousins are like a hybrid of the two: they are friends who are family. You can hang out with them and enjoy playing with them because they’re not your brother or sister and you don’t see they every day. But because they are still family, they will always be there for you. Cousins have a special bond.

My sister and I were the first grand kids on both sides of the family and the kids to follow after that, our cousins, were much younger. We still see them occasionally on special family events, but we’re in different stages of our lives.

My sister’s kids are pretty close in age to my own, by some happy coincidence. And they enjoy hanging out together. It would be nice if we lived closer, so the cousins could hang out more, but in the meantime we make an effort to get together so the kids can get together. I hope our kids continue to develop their unique bond with their cousins for years to come.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hear, hear! Cousins are the best. One of my cousins was born a month after me and is nearly like a sister. Unfortunately she lives too far away now. I miss her!

    Reply

  2. They are so cute!

    Reply

  3. Great picture and sentiment. Can’t imagine life without the cousins. They are my son’s best friends. =)

    Reply

  4. By the way, thank you for the compliment. I love photographing everything, especially my son.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

