A Muggle of a Challenge

I’ll admit it, I’ve seen all the Harry Potter movies and enjoyed them immensely (some more than others). My kids have seen them too. We actually own them on DVD and re-watched them recently in preparation for the release of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

I remember when the books first came out and all the press around how kids were devouring them. I even knew adults who were into them. But me, no I just couldn’t bring myself to read them. I don’t know why actually. But I held strong.

Then the first movie came out. Since I hadn’t read the book before the movie, it was unlikely I was going to read it now. I have a problem reading books after I’ve seen the movie (though watching a movie after reading the book doesn’t seem to be an issue, even if I’m usually disappointed with film). When the Lord of the Rings Trilogy was planned for a film release, I made sure to finish reading all the books before seeing the movies. I think I get distracted and find difficulty maintaining my interest in the book because I know what the outcome is (oh, I’m also not one to reread books either).

But then something happened. After watching Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (which I really enjoyed), my kids started asking a bunch of questions; questions not addressed in the movie. Like all movie versions of books, they cut and condense. I thought all would probably be revealed in the printed pages so it was then that I decided to start reading the books. We could read a few pages everyday, out loud. The kids might maintain their interest since they know the characters.

Then I saw a tweet from Belle at MsBookish (@msbookish) about a Harry Potter Reading Challenge over at Galley Smith (@galleysmith). What were the odds! So of course I jumped over and signed up that night. Now my problem is getting a copy of the first book. When I checked the bookstores near, Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone was no where to be found  (others must be jumping on the Harry Potter book bandwagon too). I’m on the waiting list at my library for one of their 174 copies and I’ve asked my local bookstore to order the first book from Raincoast Books (@RaincoastBooks) too. Hey, maybe I’ll be lucky enough to win one of the two box sets of books Galley Smith is giving away as part of the reading challenge launch.

What are you waiting for? Why don’t you jump over and sign-up too.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck on winning the boxsets. We have the whole collection and my 11 year old and I have lovingly worn those books to pieces. I hope you and your kids will enjoy the magic (pun intended) of Harry Potter’s world. Reading the books with you is a special memory they’ll never forget.

    Reply

  2. […] say). I’m reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone with the kids as part of the reading challenge at Galleysmith. I’m also reading Cynthea Liu’s new release Paris Pan takes a Dare. I guess I just […]

    Reply

  3. […] CA @ 9:57 pm Tags: Harry Potter, reading challenge, stuff we do for our kids You may remember an earlier post I made about participating in Gallysmith’s Harry Potter Reading Challenge. I don’t […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

