Write a Review Wednesday: A Wizard in Love

Welcome to another Write a Review Wednesday, a meme started by Tara Lazar as a way to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week I wrote a review on Clare Beaton’s counting concept book One Moose, Twenty Mice. I love all sorts of picture books, but I especially love entertaining picture books from Canadian publishers, seeing as I’m from Canada. Well recently I was fortunate enough to receive some amazing picture books from the fine folks at Tundra Books to review.

@@@@@@@@@@

wizardcover I don’t think my kids are alone with their interest in anything about wizards. There’s something mysterious and magical about them. So it comes as no surprise that my kids were drawn to the book A Wizard in Love (age 4+), by Mireille Levert and Marie Lafrance and published by Tundra Books.

Hector, a retired wizard, has traded in his spells and potions for a quieter life in front of the TV eating cookies with his cat, Poisin. He doesn’t mind the crumbs on the couch or that his house is falling apart. Life is perfect. That is until he’s awakened by a dreadful noise outside.

On further investigation, Hector and Poison discover Isobel, the woman responsible for creating the ghastly sound. But even Hector’s old book of spells can”t save him from the charm of Isobel’s voice.

My kids were enthralled by the journey Hector makes from a messy recluse to a charming neighbour. My son especially loved the scene of Hector mixing a bubbling, nasty blue smoke concoction in his cauldron. The illustrations start dark, like Hector’s dilapidated house, but when Isobel is introduced and Hector is transformed by her beautiful voice and good nature, the illustrations become bright and airy. Hector’s physical appearance also changes, like the beast to the prince. My daughter enjoyed Hector’s cat Poison and the mischief he gets into in the background illustrations.

The story and illustrations work together, telling a wonderful tale about the power of love, about love conquering all, about the good buried within everyone. You can add a copy of A Wizard in Love to your personal library by purchasing from Amazon.ca

Even Hector's spells can't save him from Isobel

Even Hector's spells can't save him from Isobel

What’s your favourite family book? Some other Write a Review Wednesday posts.

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] started to take over (well, maybe just add to) our nightly reading ritual. You can see my review of A Wizard in Love (the book my daughter’s is […]

    Reply

  2. My favorite family book is Free To Be You And Me. Luckily my daughter also loves it. It is part of my indoctrination plan. 🙂

    Reply

  3. The illustrations are so charming! My little one doesn’t like anything dark or scary in books, but I wonder if Hector’s transformation might appeal to him …

    Reply

  4. […] way to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week I wrote a review on a delightful story A Wizard in Love (by Mireille Levert and Marie Lafrance). This week I’m thinking of my son when I review […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

