Write a Review Wednesday: Elephant and Pig: I’m Invited to a Party

Aspiring writer of children fiction and blogger Tara Lazar started a meme entitled ‘Write a Review Wednesday‘ as a way to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week I wrote a review on Mrs. Crumps Cat, on of my oldest daughter’s favourites. This week I’m leaning toward my youngest daughter and her love of talking animals.

@@@@@@@@@@

Time to party!

Time to party!

If you have kids you’re probably familiar with Mo Willems, the author and illustrator of the Pigeon books and Leonardo the Terrible Monster to name a few. We have these and a number of his other books in our home library, but my youngest daughter’s latest book obsession has been with Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie adventures.  Out of the four Elephant and Piggie books we own, my youngest daughter, who is two, really enjoys I’ve Been Invited to a Party (age 4-8), published by Hyperion Books for Children.

The book features two lovable friends: an excitable, optimistic Pig and a cautious, grounded Elephant. In this story, Piggie gets invited to her first party and looks to her friend Elephant for advice. And Elephant ‘knows parties’.

The books line drawn illustrations resemble the work found in Mo Willems’ Pigeon books. Surrounded by lots of white space, images pop out of the page and make reading the text easier for beginner readers.

The simple, repetetive language offers a fun story for early readers, even my two year old knows the words at various stages in the story. She loves Elephant’s solution to Pig’gies party dilemma. And even with simple language, Mo Willems writes with a wit that even adults can enjoy, which is good since you’ll probably be reading this story over and over again.

If you would like to add this book to your home library, you can buy it on Amazon.ca

Anticipating what Elephant and Pig will do next.

Anticipating what Elephant and Pig will do next.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I LOVE Mo Willems! The Pigeon books and one of his lates, “Naked Mole Rat (which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND) are also great! Nice review 🙂

    Reply

  2. […] as a way to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week I wrote a review on Elephant and Pig: I’m Invited to a Party, a new family favourite, specifically for my youngest daughter. This week I’m excited because […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

