And the winner is..

One of my previous Foto Friday posts, I talked about a contest that fellow blogger and aspiring children’s book writer Tara Lazar was hosting on her blog. She had posted an interview she conduced with the children’s author Carin Berger (a mighty good interview too if you haven’t read it yet). In line with Carin’s newest book OK GO, Tara had asked children (under 10) to get out their scissors and glue and create a piece of collage art based on a green theme. The winner would receive a copy of Carin’s new book, signed by her. You didn’t have to twist my kids arms; they jumped at the chance. You can see their enteries here.

Well last night I received an email from the author, Carin Berger, (actually my kids received the email, I just read it) congratulating them on the art they submitted. Plus Verity was drawn as the winner of OK GO. My daughter was so excited. She ran around the kitchen chanting ‘I won the art contest. I won the art contest.’ And although only the first three names drawn were to win a copy of one of Carin Berger’s books, Carin has very graciously offered a copy of her mini-book All Mixed Up to all the participants (which of course made my son very happy). But I should point out that my daughter stresses to her brother and dad that only her copy is autographed by the author, something very important to her.

You can see the announcement of the winner’s on Tara’s blog. And be sure to pop over to Carin Berger’s blog where she has posted all the art work submitted. There are some fantasticly creative ideas  from kids, age 4 to 10.  Don’t forget to get your own copy of OK GO. And now I need to try and contain my children’s excitement before something gets broken.

3 responses to this post.

  1. just saw this and had to say hi and i loved your kids art, and thanks so much for letting people know about the contest, the book and the blog! [isn’t tara amazing!?]

    Reply

  2. Congrats to the kids!! I thought their art was great too!

    Reply

  3. […] Write a Review Wednesday: OK GO June 30, 2009 Filed under: Write a Review Wednesday, children, nature, picture books, review, the future — CA @ 10:54 pm Tags: Children's book review Aspiring writer of children fiction and blogger Tara Lazar started a meme entitled ‘Write a Review Wednesday‘ as a way to show support to authors of kids literature. Last week I wrote a review on Elephant and Pig: I’m Invited to a Party, a new family favourite, specifically for my youngest daughter. This week I’m excited because we finally received Carin Berger’s book (from Tara Lazar’s Going Green art contest). […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

