Everything I know I learned from Youtube

Recently we bought a Playstation 3. It wasn’t for the gaming aspect, thought that’s pretty cool. We bought it because we needed a new DVD player. Confused? Well, the larger Playstation 3 allows you to view DVDs and Bluerays. Plus you can create a media server for your movies and other files to view on your TV. Still confused? Well, we bought it because with one machine we can play games, watch movies and surf the web. Clearer?

So we had this new machine and we wanted to figure out how to set up the media server aspect. The manual refers to this feature with a line or two but doesn’t get into how to get it up and running. I guess their thought is if you’re thinking of using the machine this way, then you probably already know what you’re doing. With a useless manual the next step is obvious. Go to Youtube!

So in less than ten minutes I was watching some guy in his room at 3am showing me how to set-up a media server. It was great! Who needs a manual when you have access to everyone around you with a video camera and the need to share? Why just this morning there was a twittersation about old kids cartoons like Hong Kong Phooey. I was trying to remember the theme song and there it was, on Youtube. Some one had made a copy of the opening and closing credits to the cartoon.

I started thinking about what other useful information Youtube might have to help me in my everyday life.

Hmm, let’s see. I’m working in the backyard moving rocks and shrubs. Moving a big rock without tearing up the whole yard might come in handy.

Okay, but what about when my mud messy kids come in from helping me in the backyard and walk across my hardwood floors, even though I told them not to. Now I need to clean the floors.

Okay, with rock lifting and floor washing I’m sure I will start getting kinda hungry. I’ve always wanted to know how to make naan bread in my own oven. And with the help of Manjula’s naan bread recipe demonstration, now I can.

And if I’m working in the kitchen, I know my kids will want to do some kitchen stuff too. What about peeling a hard boiled egg without actually peeling it? A bit of a contradiction I know, but Timothy Ferriss will show you how in his clip How to Peel Hard Boiled Eggs w/o Peeling.

Before I know it, it will be time for the kids to head to bed. And you know what, I can get Richard Armitage (with that lovely British accent) to read a bedtime story to my kids.

And finally, when the kids are in bed, I’ll be able to sit back and enjoy some beer and chocolate tasting with the Brew Dudes and wonder how I ever made it through the day without Youtube.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kris on May 3, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    BTW if the rock is nice to look at I can take it off your hands and land it in my garden – happily :). Just send me a picture if you think it’s landscape worthy – hee hee, I am so NOT joking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

