Leftovers

So I’ve been catching up with some of my poems for the Writer’s Digest Poem-A-Day competition. Monday’s prompt was to write a poem about rebirth. You can guess what my first thought was as a mother, but I didn’t want to write about blood and sweat and screaming and such (hmm, think I have some birthing issues to deal with). Instead I thought about something many moms encounter: dinner and what to make. Probably a bit of a stretch on the subject of rebirth but here it goes:

Reheat on high

Monday night’s noodles.
Tuesday night’s carrots.
Wednesday night’s chicken.
Thursday night’s mushrooms.
Toss in a bowl and
reheat on high.
Friday night’s dinner.

Leave a Reply

