Some things I just can’t part with

I’m sure we all have something tucked away in a box or buried in the back of a drawer. Something that’s old or doesn’t work properly. Something that’s too small or in need of repair. Something we’ll never use, that’s just taking up space, yet we just can’t bring ourselves to get ride of it.

I have just such an item. A bath towel. A green, faded, frayed, ripped bath towel.

A family treasure? Maybe not.

A family treasure? Maybe not.

It’s not because I’m cheap and can’t afford a new one; towels are pretty inexpensive. It’s not because I’m a super sewer and plan to repair it; I don’t even think I own a needle or thread. No, I can’t seem to let go of this towel because it makes me laugh.

Okay, maybe a little background information is needed. When my husband and I were younger (before the kids, before the house, before the marriage), we shared a one-bedroom apartment together. We were lucky to have laundry facilities in the basement. We didn’t know how lucky until they weren’t working one day. So off to the laundry mat we trecked (oh, this was before our car too).

Actually it wasn’t that bad. It was a sunny day and we bought veal sandwiches from a local deli while our clothes washed. Before we knew it, our clothes were done. My husband and I each took a machine to empty and fold. As I paired socks from the dryer, it happened

RRIIPP

I looked up at my hubby, who was folding a towel. The towel was stitched with a gather near the bottom as a design feature, I guess. He had pulled the towel out and thought it was all bunched up from being in the dryer and pulled it straight to fold it. Instead he was pulling the gather out. The towel now had little holes all along the gather stitch.

I almost peed my pants I was laughing so hard. We eventually bought new towels to replace this one, but when it came to throwing it in the garbage, I just couldn’t do it. I don’t put it out in our bathroom. But it does sit in our hall cupboard. And every time I pull it out by accident I can’t help but remember our laundry mat adventure.

I don’t know if my kids will be as thrilled about the towel when I will it to one of them.

Today’s poem prompt for the Writer’s Digest Poem-A-Day is about a memory and this one sprang to mind. What item(s) do you have hiding in your place that you will never part with because of the memories it stirs?

That Towel

We lived together
in a one bedroom apartment.
The washers weren’t working.

We walked together
to the laundry mat.
Hefty bags over our shoulders.

We ate together
waiting for the machines to stop.
Veal sandwiches wrapped in foil.

We worked together
emptying the dryer.
Folding clothes in a pile.

RRRIIIPPP

We laughed together
at the towel we tore.
Holes appearing all along the seams.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by SAHM-I-AM on April 9, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    We have a towel that looks exactly like yours but it’s burgundy. It’s my husband’s from a previous marriage. Hate that towel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

