Missing a friend

Today’s Writer’s Digest poetry prompt is about something that is missing (either physically or metaphorically). Thoughts of our old cat Limburger popped into my head, even without much thought. He came into my life almost the same time my husband did. He was a birthday gift from my sister. She told me she had a gift and need to give it to me that night for fear it would go bad. I joked about her giving me Limburger cheese, thus his name.

He became quite ill and we made the very hard decision to put him down in December 2006 (the same time my youngest was born). My son was close to Limburger since he was the only male cat. He thought the boys needed to stick together and look out for each other. Even though Limburger is gone, I still feel him in the house, sometimes seeing him out of the corner of my eye. That’s what prompted my poem submission for today:

Limburger

I sit in the living room
reading a book.
Was that you
walking just out of view in the hall?

I work in the office
finishing some paperwork.
Was that you
playing with the rolling pencil on the floor?

I cook in the kitchen
getting dinner ready.
Was that you
asking for a piece of cheese?

I lay in bed
trying to fall asleep.
Was that you
warming the bottom of the bed with your fur as you purr?

I know you’re gone
but you’ll always be here.

I love you.

 

The boys just hanging out

The boys just hanging out

One response to this post.

  1. What a sweet tribute. We lost our kitty, Audrey, last summer after 11 wonderful years. I still think I see her running down the hall every so often. They certainly will always hold a special place in our hearts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

