Getting ready for the party

Ultimate Blog Party 2009I found, well actually, I stumbled across this Ultimate Blog Party event. I’ll bite. Hmm… but where to begin about myself. Actually there’s not much to tell, so maybe it’s more like, what to tell you about myself.

I’m fairly new at this whole blogging thingy, but I must say I’m hooked. There’s something about blogging that’s so freeing. It’s funny, I have a hard time striking up a conversation with strangers and even acquaintances, but on my blog I can talk about anything. And I love that.

I think it helps that I love writing. I’m an aspiring writer, like many bloggers I’m sure. I love writing for children, especially picture books and early readers. Perhaps that’s because I spend most of my time reading those types of books to my three young kids. Nothing is published yet, but that doesn’t stop me. Maybe one day you’ll be reading one of my post on here promoting my new book. Well, you have to start somewhere.

I don’t just write, though some days I wish that’s all I could do. No, as I mentioned, I have three kids, two of which go to school (grade one and junior kindergarten). I try to enrich their lives outside of school with books and games and adventure and nutrition and love (okay, I’m working on the nutrition side. That’s doesn’t seem to come to me naturally).

To try and create a better balance between my work and home life, I left my job in advertising and started up my own company. I actually work for many of the agency people I use to work with, testing online marketing initiatives (aka, marketing/promotional websites). This usually means I get to read marketing material, play games and enter contests. What’s not to love!

Oh and if that wasn’t enough, my husband and I are working hard to leave the big city behind and head out to the country (we’ve been here twenty years, my hubby all his life). Yup, a full plate, like so many other moms. I guess that’s why I started blogging. A place to capture my thoughts about what’s going on now and the change that we’re working toward in the future.

Gee, I hope I didn’t bore you too much. I’m excited about this year’s party, my first. I look forward to finding some like-minded moms out there.

yummy, chocolate

Come in and look around. Enjoy a nice warm chocolate banana muffin and steamed milk cocoa (my kids thought you’d enjoy that since it’s still pretty chilly out). I know there’s not much here at the moment since I’ve just started blogging, but with you and so many others for inspiration I’ll have so much to share before you know it. And hey, maybe we’ll read each other again soon.

Cheers

12 responses to this post.

  1. Hi! Hope you enjoy the party! Swing by and visit when you can!

    Reply

  2. Thanks for visiting me… this is my 1st UBP, too! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hi! Swinging by for UBP. My husband and I recently left the big city (NYC) to move to the country (Alabama). It’s been good so far! Happy blogging.

    Reply

  4. Just stopping by from the Ultimate Blog Party 2009! Hope you enjoy the party.

    Reply

  5. Hi from Just Our Thoughts! Hope you are having a great Sunday!

    Reply

  6. Thanks for stopping by for a visit. I really enjoyed reading your blog! Happy writing!!

    Reply

  7. Wow, that looks yummy! This looks like a really fun blog. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Reply

  8. Hi there! thanks for stopping by my space last week 🙂 So great to meet you!

    Reply

  9. Hi! So very nice to meet you. Thanks for the warm muffin! It is chilly out. Party hopping and participating too so stop in for a visit.

    Reply

  10. Hello! Poppin’ in from The Ultimate Blog Party…all the way from Queensland, Australia! G’Day! I hope you have time to visit my party soon.

    I’m giving away Pink Champagne Shower Syrup from Jaqua Beauty…stop on over and enter! Ends April 8. Open to USA.

    Ta!

    Reply

  11. Here comes the prize train….TOOT TOOT!!!! You’re a winner, stay tuned! #729

    Reply

  12. […] Winner #729 cabadov […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

