I hate Spring

dead-raccoonOkay, maybe hate is a little strong, but Spring is my least favourite season. Summer is about ice cream, vacation, and warm sun on your face. Fall is apple cider, pumpkin pie and crunchy leaves under your feet. Winter is hot chocolate, fireplaces and snow angels. Then there’s Spring.

Spring means more coughs and colds and runny noses. The fluctuating temperature and weather patterns makes it hard to dress appropriately. It’s also much harder to convince my kids they should wear their winter jackets and hats. When they think I’m not looking they’ll unzip, but mother’s are ALWAYS looking.

Spring means the snow is melting from the backyard, uncovering the dead leaves, forgotten toys and let’s not forget the rotting raccoon sticking out from underneath the back shed.

Spring means I have to change my eating habits. That part of me that’s been hiding under bulky sweaters will now be peeking out from my T-shirts (and not in that flat tummy, pierced bellybutton kind of way).

Spring means I have to find new tricks to convince my kids to go to bed. Sleeping when it’s dark is easy, but trying to do it when the sun is up is damn near impossible, at least for my kids.

Spring means my desire to clean the house from top to bottom kicks in. I hate that. Thank goodness this feeling is short lived.

Now I’m not a complete pessimist when it comes to Spring. My two oldest kids were born in the Spring and that’s a good thing. But if you want to know the best thing about Spring, only thirteen more weeks until summer 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m afraid I’m just so thrilled to have the snow and darkness gone that I overlook the season’s shortcomings 🙂 But then it’s really more of a “breakup” season than spring here anyway.

    Reply

  2. I’m the opposite. I adore spring because I live in one of those northern states where we only get a short interlude between the cold before we know we can be warm, again. Buy I laughed a lot with this description because I can relate: “Spring means the snow is melting from the backyard, uncovering the dead leaves, forgotten toys and let’s not forget the rotting raccoon sticking out from underneath the back shed.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

