GPS-ing to grandma’s house

I’ve been driving the van for about a week now and I think I’m starting to like it. I could say it doesn’t drive as nice as the JEEP, but maybe just saying it drives different will sufice. It just takes getting use to. Where the van can’t be beat is in the storage and accessibility, especially with kids.

So yesterday was the real test. Since we’re in march break, I decided to take the kids up to visit their grandma, about three hours north of the big city. This is the longest drive yet on the van. And it’s on a long drive where those many gadgets come in handy.

The backseat entertainment system stopped any unnecessary ‘are we there yet‘. We have all the kids movies loaded on an iPod which makes using the entertainment system even easier, just a push of a button and no need to fumble through the DVD travel case to find a movie.

 The cruise control, once I figured out with a little trial and error enroute, made for a smoother drive. I never understand people who don’t use their cruise control when doing highway driving. You’re body will thank you for it, as will your gas tank.

These are two of my favourite features and I would really miss them on the drive. But I have to say my ‘can’t-live-without-it’ feature would have to be my GPS. 

The GPS is great for multi-taskers like me. I just enter my destination, push a button and presto, up pops turn-by-turn directions. And since I don’t have to concentrate so much on where I’m going, where the next turn is, I can think of other things. On this drive up to grandmas I was able to think about the story I’m working on and where I could improve it. Sometimes I would listen to the movie the kids were watching, listening to the dialog and words used.

And if I happen to miss a direction, no problem, the system updates almost instantly with a revised route. I love my GPS. I think I would be lost without it, literally.

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] under: children, road trip — CA @ 2:40 pm Tags: playing in the backyard Since we were only going to my mom’s for a few days and it was just me taking them, I wanted to make sure I had the least amount of bags […]

    Reply

  2. […] Everyone loves a vacation. I’m no different. This past March Break I took the kids up to visit my mom for a few days. But even when the kids are at home it still is a bit of a vacation. Yes, you read […]

    Reply

  3. […] middle son — CA @ 6:12 pm During March break I told you about taking the kids up to visit my mom for a few days. It was a great trip and the kids enjoyed themselves, outside all the time. We […]

    Reply

  4. […] CA @ 6:12 pm Tags: lessons learned During March break I told you about taking the kids up to visit my mom for a few days. It was a great trip and the kids enjoyed themselves, outside all the time. We […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

