The tooth fairy

I knew it would happen someday. I just didn’t expect it to happen so soon. I don’t know for sure but I think my daughter has stopped believe in the tooth fairy. Or at the very least, is skeptical. I really I have no one to blame but myself. I slipped up.

It was only my daughter’s second tooth. She worked hard to get it out. The tooth fairy money was spent over and over again in her mind. The tooth was washed and polished, ready for the fairy. All was well, until the morning when were informed by a disappointed girl that the fairy didn’t show. Then it hit me. Even in my groggy early morning sleep state I realized that I forgot to swap the tooth for the money. My husband was quick on the mark and made the switch  while my daughter was helping her little sister get ready in the morning.

So eventually the tooth fairy funds were found, but not surprisingly there was some hesitation. Our daughter was full of questions: Why wasn’t the money there in the morning? Why was dad in her bedroom?

Our daughter seemed to buy the argument that she just looked in the wrong spot in her room for what the tooth fairy left. And if it wasn’t for her dad double checking she would never have found it. I thought all had been saved.

But then we started reading Junie B. Jones: Toothless Wonderby Barbara Park. A story about a girl in grade 1 who looses her tooth but doesn’t want to put it under her pillow for fear of the tooth witch (not fairy). At the end of the book Junie B changes her point of view and receives money from the fairy. I thought this would reinforce the idea around the tooth fairy. If you were to ask my daughter if she believed in the tooth fairy she would say yes. But there’s something in the way she says it. I get a sence she doesn’t really believe, but doesn’t want to admit it for fear of loosing her tooth fairy funds.

Well my daughter is working on loosing another tooth. Hopefully when this one comes out I can redeem myself and reestablish the belief in the tooth fairy. If not, I guess this is just a taste of what is to come: Santa Clause, Easter Bunny, Lepercauns. I don’t know if I’m ready for that yet.

One response to this post.

  1. […] daughter proceeded downstairs as if nothing happened. Now I know in the past I’ve been negligent about the Tooth Fairy’s visits but I know I took the tooth and left the money. I know I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

