Gizmos and gadgets

van-nightRemember when cars were just vehicles that got you from A to B? I don’t either, but I’m sure there was a time. It’s hard to imagine that now with all the added features in a new car now. I know the features are for added convenience, but learning them is worse than taking an electronics course. (note: I haven’t actually taken an electronics course before, but I’m only guessing it’s hard).

Yesterday we picked up our new van. We left right after school with the sun still up and returned home in the dark, past the kids bedtime, past my bedtime.

So leaving right after school did put us in the rush hour window and we did have to drive through downtown out to the east end so that took some time. But most of the time was going through the new convenience features and setting them up so there were, well, convenient.

There was the driver position set-up, adding our address into the navigation system unless we wanted to move into the Sales Manager’s home, getting the DVD player running to distract the kids, disabling the back-up camera that was more annoying then helpful, pairing my phone via bluetooth which took multiple attempts before it took, doors, windows, air, seat heaters…I felt like I was cramming for an exam. All this information was going into my head and falling out theother side. At some point I tuned out everything and just nodded knowing that I’d just find the information quicker in the manual when I needed it.

Satisfied that we know all the basics, we head out in the dark for the (long) drive home. The kids sat quietly enjoying a movie. I started to flip through the manual: Cruise control, how do you set that? Now, how do you take that off? Where’s the emergency break? How do you adjust the brightness of the interior lighting when you’re driving? How do you turn the interior reading light on so I can read the manual?

I guess my homework for the weekend will be going through the manual so I can pass my convience van exam in the school yard on Monday.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by heatherB on March 6, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Wow, thats a lot of stuff for one van. I still have trouble adjusting the time in my car during day light savings and the radio presets. You’ll have to keep me updated on the gadgets you find useful so when i get my next car (7+ years from now), i can make sure i get them too!

    Reply

  2. Posted by CA on March 6, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    In 7 years you might be able to get a built in coffee maker. Wouldn’t that be nice 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tif on March 7, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Ahhh the joys of having a van!

    Reply

  4. […] the big city. This is the longest drive yet on the van. And it’s on a long drive where those many gadgets come in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

