Maybe it’s a sign that I’m growing up

So today is the day. Today I give up my cool JEEP Commander in exchange for, gulp, a mommy minivan. Phew, there, it’s out in the open. I never thought I’d here myself say that. I know I’ve tried for the longest time to avoid it. Minivans have such a negative stereotype. They’re just so uncool. They’re certainly not the best looking vehicles inside or out. But convenience has spoken.

Although I like my JEEP, I like how it looks and drives and some of the features inside, it really isn’t a practical car. Especially with three small  kids who will be in car seats for the next 2 to 6 years. When we visited the Auto-Show, I tried to keep an open mind, but really I was seeing if an automaker had a cool multi-passenger vehicle that would meet my needs. Anything BUT a van. I looked at wagons, SUVs and even pick-up trucks, but I had to admit to myself that only the dreaded minivan was really designed for the kids.

A few weeks have passed since I came to that decision. I think now, the day I am to pick up my new family transporter, I’ve finally come to terms with my decision. I think I might even be looking forward to the van just a little. Maybe it’s a sign that I’m growing up. A sign that I’m not so worried so much about what others around me might think, but instead of what is going to work best for my family. Scary 🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by heatherB on March 5, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    I bet in a few weeks you will love it so much that you’ll think your jeep was a piece of crap and you’ll be wondering how you ever lived without your minivan.

    ..and if you ever desperately want to drive a jeep again you can borrow mine, its no commander but it will do. =)

    Reply

  2. Posted by CA on March 6, 2009 at 9:45 am

    i think you’re right. I haven’t driven it myself yet and I already like the fact that the kids can get in and out of it on their own. It’s all fun and games until someone jumps out of the van into traffic LOL (1 guess who)

    Reply

  3. […] was hard, but I came to terms with becoming a van mama. I discovered twitter which as a work from home mom can be a lifesaver. I joined Mom Central Canada […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

